Dr. Rob Franklin Named AAEP President at Annual Convention


Written by:

Bio not available.

Texas practice owner and internal medicine specialist Dr. Rob Franklin to lead the AAEP in 2023.

Dr. Rob Franklin, partner at Fredericksburg Equine in Fredericksburg, Texas, as well as co-founder and mission coordinator at animal nutritional supplement company FullBucket, was installed as president of the American Association of Equine Practitioners during the November 21 President’s Luncheon at the AAEP’s 68th Annual Convention in San Antonio, Texas.

Headshot of Dr. Rob Franklin

Dr. Franklin received his veterinary degree from Texas A&M University in 1999 and became board certified in large animal internal medicine in 2003 while completing his residency at the University of Florida. He subsequently established and/or led intensive care units at equine referral hospitals in Australia, Florida, and Texas before opening a veterinary consulting and practice ownership firm in 2012. He has been affiliated with Fredericksburg Equine since 2018.

A founding director of the Equitarian Initiative, Dr. Franklin, established the Texas Equitarian Project in Guatemala in 2012 and continues to lead the annual two-week mission to administer care to working equids and education to their caretakers. His worldview of service helped inspire the FullBucket philosophy of “Be Good and Do Good,” under which the company has helped thousands of working animals through the donation of products for each FullBucket product sold.

“As a board-certified equine specialist who has lived, practiced, and traveled all over the world, I’ve developed a singular purpose in helping other people care for the animals they depend on for physical labor, travel, sport, pleasure, and companionship,” said Dr. Franklin. “Leading the AAEP provides an opportunity to further lean into this pursuit by stewarding the welfare of the horse, supporting the development of their caregivers, and being a voice for the profession in the industry.”

Dr. Franklin has served the AAEP in numerous capacities during his 24 years of membership, including as a director from 2015–2017; past chair of the Wellness Committee; member of the Nominating Committee and numerous task forces; and, currently, as a member of the Educational Programs Committee.

Beyond the AAEP, Dr. Franklin is co-founder and past president of the Texas Equine Veterinary Association, past president of the Marion (County Fla.) Veterinary Medical Association, and a former director of the Florida Association of Equine Practitioners. In addition, Dr. Franklin has published numerous book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles, and he has presented at national and international veterinary conferences.


Other highlights of the AAEP annual convention


Attendance for the annual conference reached 4,821. This included veterinary professionals, students, technicians, guests, and exhibitors, with more than 520 additional equine practitioners and students registering for the virtual education experience. “While our annual convention continues its longstanding role as a trusted and primary source for practical knowledge and personal connection with peers, we were particularly pleased this year to expand our offerings focused on non-clinical aspects essential to practitioner well-being and career fulfillment,” said AAEP Executive Director David Foley. “The sustainability of the profession is AAEP’s top strategic priority, and the convention is an important platform to maintain the momentum of our Commission on Equine Veterinary Sustainability as its more than 80 member volunteers develop solutions and programs that address core issues over the next few years.”


Installation of 2023 officers: Dr. Rob Franklin of Fredericksburg, Texas, was installed as AAEP’s 69th president. He is joined as a 2023 officer by President-Elect Dr. Katherine Garrett of Lexington, Ky.; Vice President Dr. Tracy Turner of Stillwater, Minn.; Treasurer Dr. Amy Grice of Virginia City, Mont.; and Immediate Past President Dr. Emma Read of Dublin, Ohio.

New members of the board of directors are Dr. Betsy Charles of Murrieta, Calif., and Dr. Tegan Easton of Scottsdale, Ariz.


Presentation of annual awards

Four AAEP members were honored for outstanding contributions to the horse and profession during the Nov. 21 President’s Luncheon:

Distinguished Educator Award winner Academic: Dr. Harold Schott, Bath, Mich.

Distinguished Educator Award – Academic: Dr. Harold Schott, Bath, Mich.

Distinguished Life Member winner Dr. Richard Mitchell, Flat Rock, N.C.

Distinguished Life Member: Dr. Richard Mitchell, Flat Rock, N.C.

Sage Kester Beyond the Call Award winner Dr. Nathaniel White II, Hamilton, Va.

Sage Kester Beyond the Call Award: Dr. Nathaniel White II, Hamilton, Va.

President’s Award recipient Dr. Monty McInturff, Thompson’s Station, Tenn.

President’s Award: Dr. Monty McInturff, Thompson’s Station, Tenn.


Photo credit for stock image: istockphoto.com/tacojim